In another world

Obviously I’m not in a different universe and I’m not an astronaut who found an amazing new planet and dubbed it Earth 2.0 (it would be called Pistachio).

I’ve been in Italy almost two years, and I leave in a few months. Being here is like being in a different world sometimes. As much as I love it here, everything is so very different from home and so different from Korea as well.  It’s weird to think that all of these places that I have lived exist on one planet and that there are so many more different places still.
Dad and Mom will be here next week. I need to clean. I cannot wait to show them my world right before I leave it. I think it will be cathartic to take them through all of my favourite places – many of which I will probably see for the last time.  I want to take them to Cellini and that Mediterranean restaurant in Brugnera with the cous cous. I want to show them my 4 mile walking loop that goes by rivers and through sheep shit as well as corn fields. I cannot wait to show them Florence. My beautiful favourite city.
And, nearer home than Florence, I want to introduce them to my butcher. My bartender (there’s only one bar in my town), my grocers, my baker. My little town has everything I need to survive and if I didn’t need to leave it for work, I probably never would. Fuck the mall in Pordenone. Sushi in Sacile? Who needs it? I’m in ITALY and Fenix cafè has pasta like you wouldn’t believe.

It will be good to go back to Korea, but I wish I was staying here a bit longer.

Friday is my promotion to the next rank. I’ve been waiting for this for a long time. Wish me luck.

5 thoughts on “In another world

  1. That was 8 months ago 😂 but thank you. I have needed the luck.

    • tedstrutz says:

      Are you in Korea now? I liked your comment on your profile about ‘loving your job even if you didn’t always like it’. I’ve not thought of it in that way, and that applies to a lot of life. I would have loved to have visited you in Italy and go on that walk and meet your butcher and bartender. I thought that was sweet that it was what you wanted to show your parents. The things that meant something.

  2. I am in Korea now! For another 6 months, and then I head to England.
    I think of work like I think of family, you know?

This is where the cool people talk about Pirates.

