Deadbeat

I want to stay here so badly but what would I do? I refuse to end up as a deadbeat like a friend that I ran into the other night.

This guy taught me how to ride a bike with no handlebars when I was a kid. I was really good friends with his sister and he and my brother used to hang out all the time. Last I heard he joined the Army and was kicked out a couple years later. I didn’t even recognize him when I saw him in a bar on Thursday night…I asked him about his family, apparently he doesn’t talk to them even though he literally lives in the same town. Hell, we were IN that town. I asked my Mom about his family and told her I’d seen him and she said that the last time she asked his Mom how he was down she said, “well I haven’t seen him in the Police Blotters lately so…”

How sad. He works a deadbeat job (but at least he has one I guess) and goes out drinking almost every night.

What happens to people? He was such a great little kid. Happy. Why does life have to beat people down like that?

2 thoughts on “Deadbeat

  1. seems like he forgot to get back up.

  2. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Nothing seems easy in this life and some just cannot cope. Others just want to have fun and do nots get serious would work or money.

    I feel very fortunate. I only good hooked on coffee and my wife.

This is where the cool people talk about Pirates.

