Relay For Life

I participated in my first Relay For Life this weekend. 24 hours of walking and cheering and crying. I want to say I’ve never seen so much emotion in such a short time, but that would be a bald faced lie. 

My team leader left a lot of things undone, so I took it upon myself to fix things last minute. I made a schedule so that we would have at least one person on the track at all times, for one thing. I also ended up camping out there for 21 of the 24 hours to ensure that if people didn’t make their chalk times we would still have someone

Only one person on my team counted laps (I didn’t realize it was a thing), but I estimate that I walked/jogged for about 14 hours and over 65 miles. There were half hour breaks here and there where I rubbed my feet and took a short nap. It was a lot of fun. So much fun. There was no point during the 21 hours where there wasn’t someone I knew in attendance, so I always had someone to walk with. 

Around 0130 it started raining. I took the 0110-0140 shift for someone who didn’t show, and I was signed up for 0140-0310. It was miserable. Absolutely miserable. But I’m alive. I’m well. So I walked. I just wish I would have had an umbrella. After that I had 0340-0440, and someone else showed up to cover 0440-0710. It’s a lot of time, but I have faith that he stayed. I went under a tent (not an actual tent. More like a plastic roof), covered myself in a blanket, and fell asleep. When I woke up at 0600 it was cold. Just. So. Cold. I huddled under my blanket and pretended that I was inside. The music was playing from the speakers in my room instead of the speakers on the stage at the front. The cold wind was a fan (I don’t have a fan) instead of actual cold win. The sound of the rain was outside my window instead of a few inches away, outside of the covering.

When I actually got up about 5 minutes later I gave up. I don’t want pneumonia. I went home and slept for 10 hours straight. I feel badly about missing the end and I hope the other 2 people scheduled for that portion showed up cuz I was out. 

That made me think a bit.

(I’m going off topic now)

I’ve always loved hiking and wanted to do some more extreme hiking and camping. Think Appalachian Trail and such. But if I can’t handle a few hours of rain and cold, how could I handle months of being out there? I don’t know that I could. It made me feel like such a wimp.

What a wimpy wimp.

8 thoughts on “Relay For Life

  1. G. says:

    Awesome and very impressive! So good that you stepped up (pun intended) to do the relay.
    Hiking is one thing I thoroughly enjoy. My knees: however, yell at me later.

  2. Humor_Me_Now says:

    That is a great thing. I have seen a car with that painted on the side–here they offer a car in a raffle and also to the walking.

  3. theinfiniterally says:

    ehhhh….that doesn’t sound too wimpy. the App trail is toast!

  4. you are awesome! glad you had fun and did such a good job. not a wimp at all.

This is where the cool people talk about Pirates.

