Riddle me this

Our work hours have changed, and now I’m so far ahead of everything that I’ve had to resort to finding busy and official ways of looking busy while at work while actually slacking off.
E (Dude) sent me an e-mail yesterday (he’s started having the same problem, although he works with equipment that fails pretty consistently, so his job is never done) with a riddle:
“What can run but never walks, has a mouth but never talks, has a head but never weeps, and has a bed but never sleeps?”
I answered fairly quickly (it’s one of the first ones my Dad told me) and gave him:
“I have four wings, but cannot fly, I never laugh and never cry. On the same spot I’m always found, toiling away with little sound. What am I?”
He was quick on the uptake with that one, and then said, “Why is a raven like a writing desk?”
My first thought was, “Poe wrote on both”, but he shot it down. I’ve read Alice, and there was no answer there. Also shot down. Eventually he just told me the answer (I begged him not to), and it was completely ridiculous. I stand by my original answer.
After he so rudely assumed I’d never get it, I said, “It spreads like disease, for no one is immune. A few may doubt, but all believe soon. What is it?”
He still hasn’t answered. I’m not sure if he’s just super busy today, or if he actually doesn’t know. He guessed some when I saw him last night, but all of his answers were wrong. I don’t know if he’s trying to make me feel better about his asshole “riddle” or if he genuinely doesn’t know.

What I do know is that I want another riddle. They make work more fun. I’ll be doing something unrelated after reading one, and the answer will pop into my head. It’s extremely exciting.

7 thoughts on “Riddle me this

  1. dreamelysium says:

    haha, wow. I’ve always liked the sound of riddles, but I’m never actually very good at them….but im sure its a great way to pass time! I was the same way at my internship last semester. I always looked busy, but there really wasn’t much for me to do…I ended up looking up all kinds of crazy recipes to try out and what not..LOL..but riddles sounds so much more sophisticated than that!

    • I tend to spend my days doing tech support when there’s nothing going on. I suck at all things tech, but somehow I’m still the only one in the office who can map a freaking share drive (we do a lot of computer work. A. Lot).
      When I first started here, my work e-mail wouldn’t pop up. I ended up having to rework the entire e-mail system. It took me like four hours. I have no clue how it happened, just that I had to use the admin’s password and he was out that day. Soooooo (I should have written it down).

  2. I am an expert at looking busy at work! LOL!

  3. your riddles have broken my head. i have a guess for the last one.

This is where the cool people talk about Pirates.

