Sweet treats

One of the females brought sweets into work today. My boss was eating the food she brought and commented, “you know, you really need to get married. Get married, have kids, and that’s it”. I was about to become offended when she responded with, “I know. I’m trying”.

I truly don’t understand that response. If you want to get married and have kids, that’s super chill. But why does that have to be it? And how do you passively accept someone saying that because of your baking? That’s probably the most sexist thing I’ve ever heard ever. If one of the guys had brought in cupcakes or something then they wouldn’t be told, “you need to just get married and have kids and that’s it”. Definitely not. If they were really excellent and made from scratch then someone might say, “Have you ever considered opening a bakery?” or “dude you should make these more often”. But they wouldn’t mention a need to settle down because of baking. It’s the most ridiculous thing.

Apparently some stuff went down at lunch that people knew I wouldn’t have been happy to hear. I was there, but re-reading some of my favourite Sherlock Holmes stories and paying absolutely zero attention to the conversation around me. Probably for the best. I snapped out of it when my boss said my name a few times. When I looked up at him confused he said, “see? Not paying attention”, shook his head, and I went back to my reading.

Reading is wonderful.

2 thoughts on “Sweet treats

  1. bearonthecouch says:

    Ugh, you are so much better at blogging regularly than I am!

This is where the cool people talk about Pirates.

