Beach

In one short week I will be in VA beach with my sister. She graduates from high school on Saturday (barely! She received the minimum score on most of her exams. I honestly think her teachers hooked her up. Poor girl), her party is Sunday, and Monday morning we’ll be leaving. It’s a nine hour drive from home to VA beach, and we’ll be leaving no later than 0900. I want to be there by 1900 (Would be earlier if it were just me, but I’m sure she’ll want to stop for things like peeing and food. Weirdo) so we have some time to chill with our lovely hosts before we pass out exhausted.
Have you heard of couchsurfing.org? It’s a wonderful website. Anyone who has an available couch (or guest bed) (or corner of a room) creates a profile letting everyone else know that they have a place for someone to sleep. If you’re traveling through or staying for a few nights (or a month depending on the person!) then you can request their couch. Y’all chat a bit, they say yes or no, and you’re in business! Or…looking for a different couch.
It all seemed a bit sketchy to me at first, but you have the option to leave a review once you’ve been to someone’s home. This couple that we’re staying with lives about twenty minutes from the beach, and have nothing but good reviews. I am very excited to make some new friends.
This sister and I have never been particularly close. Or…close at all. We kind of hated each other’s guts for years. It’s going to be wonderful to spend a week just getting to know her all over again. A new start for our sisterly bond thing.

I might even let her drive my car.

10 thoughts on “Beach

  1. madhousewife says:

    Wow. Couchsurfing. That sounds adventurous on both sides. I hope you have a great time with your sister.

  2. grannyandthebaldguy says:

    I like the idea of the couch surfing and hope you have a good trip and an wonderful adventure.

  3. longing4home says:

    What an adventure! Can’t wait to hear the stories.

  4. ordinarybutloud says:

    That is adventurous on lots of different levels. Especially the car part.

  5. southernhon says:

    Which beach are you going to? I love Chincoteauge ,that’s my fave beach on the East coast.

This is where the cool people talk about Pirates.

